beneath the snow

Instrumentation: mezzo-soprano, cimbalom, violin, double bass, vibraphone

Duration: 10 minutes

Premiere: Annika Socolofsky, Nick Tolle, Courtney Orlando, Florent Ghys, and Mark Eichenberger at The Princeton Sound Kitchen, 8 December 2015

Poetry: Samiah Haque and Molly Moses

Program Notes: Every moment is permanent. Every person is permanent. They shape us. They define us. We are us.
This short song cycle is based on poems by two very dear friends, written across two relentless winters. The first poem is a haiku by Saudi poet Samiah Haque. The second and third poems were written by Jewish poet Molly Moses.